books · Favourites · Read · Reading · spring

Top 5: First Lines

Hello everyone, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. Today I’m posting the fourth addition in my brand new “top 5” series. In this series, I’ll be discussing my top 5 of whatever category I’ve set myself for that post (book-related, of course!) You can find my other posts in the series here. In this post, I’ll be focusing on my top 5 first lines of books (in no particular order), giving you some information about the book and sharing the first line (or first couple of lines) with you! I hope you all enjoy this series – please leave any comments or feedback below, I love hearing from you. So, here goes…

 

 


THE LIE by C.L. Taylor

image1 (17)

This was no accident…

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .

Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.

Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women.

Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves…

Pages: 480

Release Date: April 2015

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense.

Average Goodreads rating: 3.73

Film? Optioned for TV.

Author’s other works: ‘THE ACCIDENT’ (2014), ‘THE MISSING’ (2016), ‘THE ESCAPE’ (2017), ‘THE TREATMENT’ (2017), ‘THE FEAR, (2018) and other romantic comedies as Cally Taylor.

 

First Line!

I know he’s trouble before he even sets foot in the building. I can tell by the way he slams the door of his 4×4 and storms across the car park without waiting to see if his short, bespectacled wife is following him.

 

 


Everything But The Truth by Gillian McAllister.

image3 (14)

Do you ever check your partner’s phone? 
Should you? 
Are you prepared for the consequences?

It all started with the email.

Rachel didn’t even mean to look. She loves Jack. She’s pregnant with their child. She trusts him.

But now she’s seen it, she can’t undo that moment. Or the chain of events it has set in motion.

Why has Jack been lying about his past? Just what exactly is he hiding? And doesn’t Rachel have a right to know the truth at any cost?

Pages: 432

Release Date: March 2017

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense.

Average Goodreads rating: 3.68

Film? No.

Author’s other works: ‘Anything You Do Say’ (2017).

 

First Line!

It ended with an accusation I never thought I’d make, thrown across the room at him like a grenade. And after the ending, there was the rest: the door slamming, waking alone with the knowledge of what I’d done, unable to stop replaying the look he gave me.

 

 


The Shock Of The Fall by Nathan Filer.

image5 (10)

‘I’ll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name’s Simon. I think you’re going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he’ll be dead. And he was never the same after that.’

Pages: 320

Release Date: January 2014

Genre: Mystery, Suspense.

Average Goodreads rating: 3.78

Film? No.

Author’s other works: None.

 

First Line!

I should say that I am not a nice person. Sometimes I try to be, but often I’m not. So when it was my turn to cover my eyes and count to a hundred – I cheated.

 

 


Baby Doll by Hollie Overton.

image1 (16)

You’ve been held captive in one room.

You’ve been mentally and physically abused every day since you were sixteen years old.

Then, one night, you realise your captor has left the door to your cell unlocked.

For the first time in eight years you’re free.

This is what happens next.

Pages: 384

Release Date: December 2016

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense.

Average Goodreads rating: 3.78

Film? No.

Author’s other works: ‘The Walls’ (2017).

 

First Line!

A dead bolt has a very specific sound. Lily was an expert at recognising certain sounds – the creak of the floorboards signalling his arrival, the mice scurrying across the concrete in search of food. But Lily always braced herself for the sound of the dead bolt, listening as metal scraped against metal.

 

 


The Language Of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh.

image3 (13)

The Victorian language of flowers was used to express emotions: honeysuckle for devotion, azaleas for passion, and red roses for love. But for Victoria Jones, it has been more useful in communicating feelings like grief, mistrust and solitude. After a childhood spent in the foster care system, she is unable to get close to anybody, and her only connection to the world is through flowers and their meanings.

Now eighteen, Victoria has nowhere to go, and sleeps in a public park, where she plants a small garden of her own. When her talent is discovered by a local florist, she discovers her gift for helping others through the flowers she chooses for them. But it takes meeting a mysterious vendor at the flower market for her to realise what’s been missing in her own life, and as she starts to fall for him, she’s forced to confront a painful secret from her past, and decide whether it’s worth risking everything for a second chance at happiness.

Pages: 416

Release Date: March 2012

Genre: Drama, Mystery, Suspense.

Average Goodreads rating: 4.07

Film? No.

Author’s other works: ‘We Never Asked For Wings’ (2015).

 

First Line!

For eight years I dreamed of fire. Trees ignited as I passed them; oceans burned. The sugary smoke settled in my hair as I slept, the scent like a cloud left on the pillow as I rose.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s