books · Favourites · List · Read · Reading · spring · Thriller

Top 5: Twists

Hello everyone, and welcome back to The Bookworm’s Fantasy! I hope you’re all doing well. Today I’m posting the fifth addition in my “top 5” series. In this series, I’ll be discussing my top 5 of whatever category I’ve set myself for that post (book-related, of course!) You can find my other posts in the series here. In this post, I’ll be focusing on my top 5 favourite twists (in no particular order), giving you some information about the book and sharing some critical quotes about the twist with you, hopefully encouraging you to read the book and discover the twists for yourself! I hope you all enjoy this series – please leave any comments or feedback below, I love hearing from you. So, here goes…

 

 


Bring Me Back by B.A. Paris.

bring me back b a paris

Finn and Layla: young and in love, their whole lives ahead of them. Driving back from a holiday in France one night, Finn pulls in to a service station, leaving Layla alone in the car. When he returns, minutes later, Layla has vanished, never to be seen again. That’s the story Finn tells the police. It’s the truth – but not the whole truth.

Twelve years later, Finn has built a new life with Ellen, Layla’s sister, when he receives a phone call. Someone has seen Layla. But is it her – or someone pretending to be her? If it is her, what does she want? And what does she know about the night she disappeared?

Pages: 368

PublisherHQ

Release Date: March 2018

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense.

Average Goodreads rating: 3.76

Author’s other works: ‘Behind Closed Doors’ (2016) and ‘The Breakdown’ (2016).

 

The Twist!

 

My verdict:

There’s a massive twist near the end of the book that completely changes everything, and I definitely never saw that coming! Paris completely alters the course of the novel, and things take a totally opposite direction. The two narratives collide in the most astounding way!

 

Critical quotes:

Clever, addictive and twisty, I couldn’t sleep until I found out the truth – Claire Douglas

A tale of dark secrets, with mystery and intrigue building up and up to an ending with a fabulous twist. I devoured it – I couldn’t turn the pages quick enough – Mel Sherratt

A cracking page turner with a killer twist – Camilla Way

An incredibly pacy, heart-pounding thriller – the twist at the end left me reeling. B A Paris does it again in this exhilarating exploration of love, jealousy and betrayal. A must read for 2018! – Phoebe Morgan

Bring Me Back is AWESOME. That final twist! – Lisa Hall

 

 


I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh.

i let you go

A tragic accident. It all happened so quickly. She couldn’t have prevented it. Could she?

In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever.

Slowly, Jenna begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future. But her past is about to catch up with her, and the consequences will be devastating . . .

Pages: 384

PublisherSphere

Release Date: May 2015

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense.

Average Goodreads rating: 4.08

Author’s other works: ‘I See You’ (2017) and ‘Let Me Lie’ (2018).

 

The Twist!

 

My verdict:

That twist! It was absolutely astonishing, and I never saw it coming. I think I actually physically gawked at the open page, before dropping the book in my lap.

 

Critical quotes:

A terrific, compelling read with an astonishing twist that floored me. I loved it and did not want it to end – Peter James

Chilling, compelling and compassionate, I Let You Go is a finely-crafted novel with a killer twist – Paula Hawkins

A masterclass in plotting, with a killer twist. I could not put it down. It’s hard to believe I Let You Go is a first novel. The pacing, plotting and twists put it up there with the finest thrillers – Jojo Moyes

A hugely assured and gripping debut and a twist that made me green with envy – Mark Billingham

 

 


THE LIE by C.L. Taylor.

the lie

This was no accident…

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .

Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.

Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women.

Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves . . .

Pages: 480

PublisherAvon

Release Date: April 2015

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense.

Average Goodreads rating: 3.73

Author’s other works: ‘THE ACCIDENT’ (2014), ‘THE MISSING’ (2016), ‘THE ESCAPE’ (2017), ‘THE TREATMENT’ (2017) and ‘THE FEAR’ (2018).

 

The Twist!

 

My verdict:

Talk about a twist! Both the past and present narratives collide in the final few chapters and I was truly surprised by the turn of events. I remember sitting down for a few moments after finishing the final page, and just thinking “wow”.

 

Critical quotes:

Packed with twists and turns, this brilliantly tense thriller will get your blood pumping – Fabulous Magazine

Creepy, horrifying and twisty. C L Taylor is extremely good at writing stories in which you have no idea which characters you can trust, and the result is intriguing and scary and extremely gripping – Julie Cohen

My heart was racing after I finished CL Taylor’s brilliant new book The Lie. Dark, creepy and full of twists. I loved it – Rowan Coleman

A plot both brilliant and chilling; characters both appealing and dark and a terrifying climax to which you will race with your heart hammering in your chest. Masterful storytelling; a brilliant read – Lucy Robinson

 

 


The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins.

the girl on the train

Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens. She’s even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses. ‘Jess and Jason’, she calls them. Their life – as she sees it – is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough.

Now everything’s changed. Now Rachel has a chance to become a part of the lives she’s only watched from afar.

Now they’ll see; she’s much more than just the girl on the train…

Pages: 416

PublisherBlack Swan

Release Date: May 2016

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense.

Average Goodreads rating: 3.89

Author’s other works: ‘Into The Water’ (2017).

 

The Twist!

 

My verdict:

The Girl On The Train is the book that first introduced me to “the twist” in a psychological thriller. Totally shocking and breath-taking, this twist will stay with me for a long time.

 

Critical quotes:

Gone Girl fans will devour this psychological thriller. . . . Hawkins’s debut ends with a twist that no one, least of all its victims, could have seen coming – People

Paula Hawkins deftly imbues her debut psychological thriller with inventive twists and a shocking denouement. … Hawkins delivers an original debut that keeps the exciting momentum of The Girl on the Train going until the last page – Denver Post

The Thriller So Engrossing, You’ll Pray for Snow: Send in the blizzards, because nothing as mundane as work, school or walking the dog should distract you from this debut thriller. A natural fit for fans of Gone Girl-style unreliable narrators and twisty, fast-moving plots, The Girl on the Train will have you racing through the pages – Oprah.com

 

 


Everything But The Truth by Gillian McAllister.

Everything-but-the-Truth

Do you ever check your partner’s phone? 
Should you? 
Are you prepared for the consequences?

It all started with the email.

Rachel didn’t even mean to look. She loves Jack and she’s pregnant with their child. She trusts him.

But now she’s seen it, she can’t undo that moment. Or the chain of events it has set in motion.

Why has Jack been lying about his past? Just what exactly is he hiding? And doesn’t Rachel have a right to know the truth at any cost?

Pages: 432

PublisherPenguin

Release Date: March 2017

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense.

Average Goodreads rating: 3.63

Author’s other works: ‘Anything You Do Say’ (2018).

 

The Twist!

 

My verdict:

Both the past and present narrative motor forwards, and eventually collide in the most astounding way. McAllister turns everything on its head, sending the narrative in a shocking direction.

 

Critical quotes:

Packed with twists and turns that will make it almost impossible to put down! – Hello

Twisty and emotionally charged. Breathlessly brilliant – Heat

Everything But the Truth is startlingly good. Claustrophobic, suspense-layered and devillishy twisty, it grabs your attention from the very first page. What makes Gilly McAllister’s debut rise above other psychological thrillers is a lead character you can’t help but root for – even though you suspect you shouldn’t. Wise, scary and terrifyingly real, this marks Gillian McAllister as a new star in psychological thrillers – Miranda Dickinson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s